Five Tracks – Up and coming

A key feature that I wanted on this blog was to share songs and artists that I am really enjoying listening to. This first list of my five recommended tracks are all from up and coming artists that deserve to be listened to. You may have heard some already, but either way I hope you enjoy the selection.

5. Mary Joanna & The Southern Electrikk – Wasted

Formed in Manchester and fronted by Mary Joanna Coogan, the band are described as a blend of dream pop, psychedelia, post punk and electronica. This is their debut single and its out on 22nd September. I really like the dreaminess of the track and am intrigued to hear more.

https://soundcloud.com/bluesoapmusic/mary-joanna-the-southern-electrikk-wasted

4. Rae Morris – Cold feat. Fryars

I’ve heard of Rae for a little while now, with ‘Do You Even Know?’ being a particular favourite. She has such a beautiful and distinctive voice and this song deserves to be her biggest hit yet. She has also collaborated with Clean Bandit on their song ‘Up Again’ which features on the album ‘New Eyes’. She is definitely one to look out for.

3. Nothing But Thieves – Graveyard Whistling

The first time I heard this song I fell in love with it and the entire EP ‘If You Don’t Believe, It Can’t Hurt You’ is really strong. This track has recently been played by Radio 1 and I’m sure its only a matter of time before the band hit the spotlight. Some bands just stand out for unexplainable reasons, and personally, I think Nothing But Thieves are one of those bands.

2. Chlöe Howl – Disappointed

Probably best known for the hugely catchy ‘No Strings’, Chlöe was nominated for the BBC Sound of 2014 and is due to release her debut album later this year. Her latest single ‘Disappointed’ is another infectious track that I’ve been listening to non-stop and it also has a pretty cool video. Aged only 19, there’s lots to get excited about with Chlöe.

1. Southern – Where I Want To Be

When I heard ‘Where The Wild Are’ earlier this year, I was really impressed by Southern’s cool bluesy rock sound. Southern is brother-sister duo Thom and Lucy Southern who were born in Belfast and now based in Liverpool. I don’t know what it is exactly about their music, but this song was another immediate winner for me as soon as I listened to it.

Hope you enjoy the tracks and if you have any views, then please feel free to comment!

OL

Leave a Reply

