A Faith Restored In Modern Music

While I tend to spend a lot of my time listening to music from the 1980s and 70s, often because modern music just isn’t as satisfying and is either oversimplified or noise, recently my faith in current and new music has been restored. A large part of this is thanks to Jungle, the slightly mysterious British modern soul group. Their debut eponymous album was released in July and has also been nominated for the 2014 Mercury Prize. I really love their sound, it’s fresh and fun. They also do great music videos (watch ‘Time’). When I first heard ‘Busy Earnin’, I was hooked. With their cool funk and soul sound, it captured so many of the things that I think are missing in modern music. So, thank you Jungle, for creating a sound that manages to both offer something new but also harks back to the beauty of the 1970s.

1970s influences also seem to be creeping in to a lot of other new music that I am currently listening to. The Kooks‘ new sound for their fourth album ‘Listen’ is undoubtedly retro, with clear gospel aspects and I’m really enjoying their latest track ‘Forgive & Forget’. I’ve also been listening to Tensnake‘s ‘Feel of Love’, which has shown that not all dance style tracks have to include the same monotonous beat and token female vocals/rap. It’s a track that makes you want to dance, for its disco style sound and I would much prefer to hear this on a night out, then yet another David Guetta.

Moving away from funk and soul sounds, it has also been great to hear some great music that doesn’t fit any clear genre box, such as SBTRKT‘S ‘New Dorp. New York’. Featuring the vocals of Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig, it’s perhaps an unusual collaboration, but for some reason it really works.

Make sure to check out Jungle’s video for ‘Time’ below and if you, like me, were losing faith in modern music then hopefully this has made you a bit more hopeful.

OL

Leave a Reply

