New For 2015

I am definitely in one of my happiest places when listening to brand new music. Its the same when watching a film for the first time, that sense of openness and allowing it to make you feel something. So with the new year comes brand new music from emerging artists, some having already made their mark in 2014, others only just coming to attention, but all of them I believe will bring us exciting new music over the course of the next 12 months.

First up is Rae Morris, who I’ve already expressed my excitement for on this blog. With a selection of wonderful singles already to her name (her latest ‘Under The Shadows’ being my favourite), her debut album Unguarded is due to be released this month. Having been on the scene for a few years now, I think this is really her time and I think she is finally getting the recognition she deserves.

While I’ve been listening to artists like Rae Morris for nearly a year or so now, Jack Garratt has only very recently burst onto my radar with his fantastic single ‘The Love You’re Given’. That song really made me sit up and pay attention, its just so unique and a perfect bundle of almost haunting and silky sounds. I’ve had a listen to his other material, ‘Worry’ being another great track and I look forward to hearing more from him this year.

Similarly to Jack Garratt, Shura has also grabbed my attention with one song, which I’m addicted to at the moment, ‘Indecision’ (which Jungle have also done a great remix of). Her voice is just so velvety and along with those smooth beats, its just perfect. She reminds me a little bit of Jessie Ware, who I’m also a huge fan of. Its when I come across artists like Shura that I honestly get really excited, she really has me hooked.

Moving along now to more alternative rock is Nothing But Thieves. I’ve followed these guys for a little while now and actually got to interview them for my student radio station when they were supporting Twin Atlantic in Birmingham! At that gig I heard their latest track ‘Ban All The Music’ which was chosen this week as Zane Lowe’s Hottest Record in the World. Its definitely worth listening to, but also check out their earlier stuff like ‘Graveyard Whistling’ which shows their range.

Finally, is Boxed In, whose debut album is released on 19th January. The project is fronted by Oli Bayston and I just really like the simple, almost low-key style of the tracks. Its hard to pinpoint Boxed In’s exact sound but that makes them all the more interesting. My favourite from the new album is probably ‘Foot Of The Hill’ but also have a listen to ‘Mystery’.

So, if these artists are anything to go by, 2015 is going to be a good year for music!

-OL

Leave a Reply

