Cover Songs – Better Than The Original? (Vol. 2)

As I expressed in my first post about my favourite cover songs, they often have a beautiful ability to take a song into completely new and unexpected directions. This selection certainly demonstrates that.

Ben Howard recently did an absolutely gorgeous cover of Jessie Ware’s ‘Wildest Moments’ for the Radio 1 Live Lounge but nothing can beat this extraordinary cover he did of Carly Rae Jepsen’s ‘Call Me Maybe’, completely transforming a chirpy pop song into a dark and haunting track.

Next up is a great example of a cover track that is so different to the original that I didn’t realise straight away it was a cover. James Vincent McMorrow covered one of my favourite tracks from the 80s, Steve Winwood’s ‘Higher Love’. It is a truly beautiful reworking of the 1986 hit single.

The next cover is one of the most bonkers cover songs I have ever heard, completely unexpected but also quite brilliant. Nearly 40 years later this cover doesn’t seem any more normal, it’s still as way out as it probably seemed when it was released in 1977. Here is Devo with their unique cover of The Rolling Stones’ 1965 single ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’.

The last song I have chosen for this selection is from South African band Civil Twilight (who not enough people have heard of but their album ‘Human’ is amazing and you should all go and listen to it). This cover of ‘Come As You Are’ blew me away the first time I heard it and it just made me really happy when I stumbled across it. Civil Twilight are a band I fell in love with years ago and I got really into Nirvana in primary school after finding my Dad’s CD of theirs. The blend of the two just seems perfect somehow, both in terms of my own nostalgia but also because this is just a bloody good cover.

As always I hope you have enjoyed listening to these songs and I will post more of my favourites soon!

OL

Leave a Reply

