New Calvin Harris – Initial Thoughts

When I saw Calvin Harris had a new single out I have to be honest I wasn’t particularly excited. I have frequently voiced my distaste for what I have often seen as Harris’ formulaic sound, especially his recent work with the likes of Rihanna, Ellie Goulding and John Newman. Personally I think these sorts of singles lacked true originality or any factor that made them sound different to the rest of the generic chart. While I was a fan of his earlier work such as ‘Acceptable in the 80s’, the Motion era was just a bit dull and predictable.

However, my initial pessimism was put aside when I saw that Disciples feature on this new track and that it has a different sound for Harris. And, I have to say, I have been pleasantly surprised. It certainly is a new sound for Harris and compared to the hugely unremarkable ‘Blame’, ‘Outside’ etc this new single ‘How Deep Is Your Love’ is pretty slick and catchy. It doesn’t rely on an anticipated drop or Avicii style build, and that is why it’s actually pretty good. Yes I said it, I like a Calvin Harris track.

You can listen here:

OL

Leave a comment