Tracks Of The Week

This week’s selection is a blend of established bands and upcoming talent who equally have created some wonderful music. Enjoy!

Firstly, upcoming band The Bluebook Project have a very distinctively British sound, which I was really drawn to. Their track ‘Hurricane Blues’ is energetic and full of spirit, reminding me of an early Jake Bugg. Have a listen for yourself and see what you think!

Next up, after their truly amazing single ‘What Went Down’, Foals have got me even more excited for their August album release date with new track ‘Mountain At My Gates’. Although it wasn’t an instant winner for me during the first listening, this song has really grown on me and gets better with each listen. Plus, it has an awesome interactive video.

Talking of exciting album releases, Metric are releasing their sixth album ‘Pagans in Vegas’ in September. The latest single from the album, ‘Too Bad, So Sad’ is seriously awesome. It sounds like an 80s video game (that’s a compliment) and is so fresh and cool. I absolutely love it!

I thought I’d finish off this week with a band that I’ve just discovered and fallen in love with. Owl & Mouse are a five-piece band from London who describe their music as “bittersweet, open-hearted indiepop songs with a folk tinge.” They released their debut album ‘Departures’ on 24th July and this song ‘Octopi’ is beautiful. I think they sound like a more folky Camera Obscura and I am so glad I stumbled across them!

OL

Leave a Reply

