Tracks of 2015 – No. 30-21

As we come up to the new year, we all find ourselves looking back on the events, culture and memories that have made up our year, both good and bad. I like to take the time to do my own reflection on the music released in the past year and the songs that have shaped it for me. I have therefore collated my 30 tracks of the year, which will be published in three installments. It has taken me hours upon hours to narrow down this list to just 30 songs and to then place them in a countdown, especially as the enjoyment of music is so dependent on mood. But, without further ado, here are my favourite tracks from this year, counting down from number 30 to 21.

30. Robyn & La Bagatelle Magique ft. Maluca – Love Is Free

Back in the summer, Robyn’s work with the late Christian Falk was released. Lead single ‘Love Is Free’ is a ridiculously catchy song all about letting go and I had it on repeat for most of June.

29. Bob Moses – Talk

Canadian electronica duo Bob Moses’ slick and moody track ‘Talk’ grabbed me on the first listen. Its deep, melancholic sound is just beautifully addictive. It’s a real stand out track.

28. Laura Marling – False Hope

‘False Hope’, released in February, is an example of Marling’s departure from her more traditional folk sound with her fifth album Short Movie. It is a gorgeous song bubbling with hints of losing control and I love it.

27. Warpaint – No Way Out

Also released in February, Warpaint’s ‘No Way Out’ is a track you just fall in love with straight away. The dreamy vocals are as irresistible as ever and the pacing of it is just gorgeous. (There is also a 7 minute version which is well worth listening to).

26. Daughter – Doing the Right Thing

‘Doing The Right Thing’ is one of those songs that you can’t get distracted from while listening to it. The first single from Daughter’s forthcoming second album, it is an incredibly moving and atmospheric song that you just have to allow to take over you.

25. Everything Everything – Distant Past

Although, admittedly, I wasn’t sold on my first listen, this song has since become one of my favourite songs this year, especially since seeing it live. It is bonkers, unique and catchy and shows why Everything Everything are one of the most exciting bands around right now.

24. The Wombats – Greek Tragedy

This song became a staple of my final year at university and every time I think I’ve gone off it, I fall in love with it all over again. It’s pure indie magic. (Warning – the music video is very messed up, seriously).

23. Bully – Trying

Grungy and raw, Bully’s debut album Feels Like was one of my highlights of the year. Alicia Bognanno’s voice is so ferocious and their track ‘Trying’ is one of my favourite examples of their nostalgic, powerful sound.

22. Alessia Cara – Here

The ultimate wallflower anthem, ‘Here’ is smart, astute and captivating. It is a phenomenal debut single, released when Cara was just 18, and is a perfect example of how a song can be a time capsule.

21. Beck – Dreams

The ultimate musical chameleon, Beck’s psychedelic ‘Dreams’ was my ultimate song of the summer. It’s one of those songs that just keeps giving – go to the 3 minute mark and you’ll know what I mean.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

