Tracks of 2015 – No. 20-11

20. Sleater-Kinney – Surface Envy

From their eighth album No Cities To Love, ‘Surface Envy’ is a brilliantly fired-up and roaring track. That intro, those lioness vocals…I love everything about this track.

19. Blossoms – Charlemagne

‘Charlemagne’ is full of classic indie sounds and is unbelievably catchy. It is indie pop/rock at its finest and shows that Blossoms are definitely a band to watch out for in 2016.

18. Florence + The Machine – Delilah

How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful reminded everyone of the incredible force of Florence, which was confirmed during her stunning live shows. ‘Delilah’ is arguably one of her best tracks yet and a definite highlight of this year.

17. Grimes – Realiti

Initially just released as a demo earlier this year, Grimes later decided to include ‘Realiti’ on her album Art Angels. Personally, I think I prefer the more raw demo version, but either way this is just great, dynamic pop.

16. Erik Hassle – No Words

One of the most infectious songs you will hear, possibly ever, it is actually a crime that this song got so little airplay or attention. The ultimate feel good song, I had this on repeat for the whole of summer.

15. Fickle Friends – Velvet

I have long been a fan of Fickle Friends’ indie/synth-pop sound and I think this track, featured on their first EP, is them at their best .(And as it’s there, you really should listen to the whole EP!)

14. Carly Rae Jepsen – Run Away With Me

2015 was the year Jepsen really proved herself. Showing she was more than a one hit wonder, her album Emotion was full of beautifully crafted and intelligent pop. ‘Run Away With Me’ is her best song yet, and the video is adorable.

13. Little Comets – Don’t Fool Yourself

This really is just a wonderful song, pure and simple. It’s a heavenly indie track that gets better with every listen and I just love it. It’s also another example of a track that deserved more attention.

12. Hot Chip – Huarache Lights

This is an incredible song. The first time I heard it I was amazed by how it just keeps changing, building, layering and getting better and better. I still have the same reaction every time I hear it.

11. Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me (feat. Lucy Rose)

I love this song so much and I’ll never tire of listening to it. It is so beautiful in its simplicity and Lucy Rose’s vocals add an extra layer of charm.

Keep posted for my Top 10! To be revealed very soon…

Leave a Reply

