Tracks of 2015 – No. 10-1

So, after twenty tracks ranging from rock, synth pop and everything in between, it is now time to reveal my top 10 tracks of this year. I fell in love with each of these tracks on the first listen, many within a few seconds. It was therefore pretty clear to me what was going to be included in this top 10, although ordering them is always a challenge. However, I must say, my number 1 was always certain.

10. Kendrick Lamar – King Kunta

Lamar has described ‘King Kunta’ as “plain energy” and a song about the importance for standing up for what you believe in. This sentiment, as well as that contagious energy and blend of musical styles, is why it has to be one of the best tracks released this year.

9. Chvrches – Clearest Blue

The release of Every Open Eye this year saw Chvrches take their sound to a whole new level of cleaner and explosive hits. Although the album is full of great tracks, ‘Clearest Blue’ takes its place in this list mainly because of the incredibly awesome release in the second half of the song.

8. Courtney Barnett- Nobody Really Cares If You Don’t Go To The Party

Witty, compelling and down to earth, Barnett’s album Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit is an instant classic and one of my favourites of the year. Her lyrics are an often hilarious, but also poignant, social commentary and each song is beautiful. I chose ‘Nobody Really Cares If You Don’t Go To The Party’ for my top 10 because I think it perfectly encapsulates Barnett’s indie credentials, the fun side to her music and her often hugely relatable lyrics. ‘I wanna go out, but I wanna stay home’ is also pretty much my student days in a lyric.

7. The Weeknd – Can’t Feel My Face

‘Can’t Feel My Face’ was one of those refreshing songs that dominated the mainstream but genuinely deserved to do so. It is one of the most perfect pop songs for a long time. A pure jam, it’s like a modern day incarnation of Thriller-era Michael Jackson and I’m not ashamed to say I love it.

6. Foals – What Went Down

‘What Went Down’ is such a massive track. It’s explosive, full of fire and just blasts into your eardrums with full, god-like force. It’s awesome. I was torn between featuring this track or ‘London Thunder’, but this steals it because of its insane energy.

5. Everything Everything – No Reptiles

Get to Heaven is a beautiful but also deeply dark album and ‘No Reptiles’ is a clear example of this darkness. Its lyric, ‘It’s alright to feel like a fat child in a pushchair/Old enough to run’ makes it worthy of the top 10 alone, but ultimately it is the way the track builds into this oddly optimistic and conflicting sound that really makes it one of my top tracks of this year.

4. Tame Impala – Cause I’m A Man

‘Cause I’m A Man’ is a ridiculously smooth and psychedelic tune and it has this beautiful hypnotic and calming effect that I haven’t been able to get enough of. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Currents certainly didn’t disappoint as an album but, personally, I don’t think that any of the other tracks quite matched this for its genius creation of pure, chilled out bliss.

3. Pumarosa – Priestess

I am so thankful that I found this song online because it is one of the most entrancing songs I have ever listened to. An incredibly impressive debut single, Pumarosa’s slow-burning 7 minute piece of heaven builds into pure musical ecstasy. You cannot help but be totally absorbed by it. And, did I mention, it’s their debut release?

2. Wolf Alice – Your Loves Whore

Wolf Alice dominated my year in music with the release of ‘Giant Peach’ early on in the year and the steady build up to debut album My Love Is Cool, which I have been listening to almost non-stop since its June release. For me, ‘Your Loves Whore’ is one of their best tracks, with its fusion of softness and vulnerability built into a truly defiant and bold sound.

 

And now we reach number 1 in my countdown of the top tracks of 2015. It’s been a really fantastic year for music but there was only ever one song worthy of the title of my number 1 track of the year. It is, of course, the brilliant Shura.

1. Shura – White Light

At the risk of sounding dramatic, I honestly find it difficult to effectively put across how much I love Shura’s music and how much I adore this song. By the time it was released, I had already become obsessed with her sound and remember clearly that June day, sitting in anticipation with my eyes closed and headphones on as I listened to all 7 minutes of ‘White Light’ for the first time. As soon as I finished listening, I immediately hit replay and the song has been a constant feature in my eardrums ever since. It is a paradox of 80s inspired synth and groove with futuristic sounds and if I ever asked someone to write a song that perfectly suited my taste in music, I’m pretty sure it would sound exactly like this masterpiece.

 

So, there you have it! My top 10 tracks of 2015. I hope you have enjoyed the countdown and, as always, I’d love to know your thoughts so feel free to comment below. Let’s hope 2016 brings even more wonderful tunes to our ears.

Happy New Year everyone and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

