Indie Track of the Week – Blossoms

Blossoms are a five-piece band from Stockport who were announced as number 4 on the BBC Music Sound of 2016 poll earlier this week. They’ve already gained a following on the live circuit (performing at festivals such as SXSW) and many, myself included, have become enamoured with their hugely catchy indie-pop sound.

Blossoms’ music proudly incorporates pop influences into its more classic indie sound, with the band being just as influenced by ABBA as they are Arctic Monkeys. Their previous releases, such as ‘Charlemagne’ (which I chose as number 19 for my tracks of 2015) perfectly showcases this blend of genres and musical styles ranging from the 1960s to 1990s Oasis-era.

I was therefore very happy when Blossoms were announced as number 4 in the SO16 poll on Tuesday and even more so when they released new track ‘At Most A Kiss’ on the same day. A ridiculously catchy song, it’s arguably their biggest yet, and I hope it gives them the attention they deserve. As soon as I heard it I knew it had to be my track of the week.

Have a listen for yourselves:

Leave a Reply

