Best Of – CHVRCHES

In anticipation of their headline gig at London’s Royal Albert Hall on Thursday night (which is going to be one hell of a gig, especially as Shura is supporting), I thought I would share my favourite Chvrches’ tracks. As with any of your favourite bands, it is nearly impossible to limit your favourites, but I think this list gives a good overview of who Chvrches are as a band and why they’re so great.

5. Dead Air

Starting off with an example of Chvrches’ non-album releases, ‘Dead Air’ was featured on the Lorde-curated soundtrack to The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 (which is an awesome album, by the way). I absolutely fell in love with this track immediately and still listen to it on repeat.

4. Get Away

‘Get Away’ is one of Chvrches’ most slick tracks and perfect for night-time drives, which is appropriate as the track was released in 2014 as part of Zane Lowe’s alternative soundtrack to the cult film Drive. Personally I don’t really see why Drive needed an alternative soundtrack (Kavinsky and College were already perfect) but I’m glad it led to this track because I think it’s brilliant.

3. Lies

Even now, when I hear the start of this song I get chills. The Bones of What You Believe has so many brilliant tracks on it but ‘Lies’ will always be one of my favourites. It sounds a lot darker and deeper than other Chvrches tracks and it’s just so beautifully intense.

2. Clearest Blue

Every Open Eye is full of great tracks such as ‘Empty Threat’, but ‘Clearest Blue’ is definitely the highlight for me. A stadium-filler of a tune, ‘Clearest Blue’ is Chvrches at their biggest yet. A modern spin on the 80s synth-pop of New Order or Depeche Mode, the track is catchy, beautifully paced and just pure fun.

1. Gun

Another stand-out track from their debut album The Bones of What You Believe, for me ‘Gun’ is the ultimate Chvrches song. It’s infectious, stylish and empowering, and therefore epitomises the band.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Best Of – CHVRCHES

Leave a Reply

