Tracks of the Week

This week I found it difficult to choose just one song, so have picked 3 of my favourite new tracks from the past week or so.

Michael Kiwanuka – Love & Hate

Kiwankua won the BBC Sound of 2012 poll and released his debut album Home Again the same year. Since then he has been pretty quiet so it was unexpected, but wonderful news when he announced last month that his second album Love & Hate is due to be released on May 27th. Last week Kiwanuka released the track ‘Love & Hate’, a soulful and rich 7 minute track that has got me very excited about the new album. Just like the album’s first single ‘Black Man In A White World’, it has a beautiful timeless quality to it. Everything about this song screams modern classic and I hope you fall in love with it as much as I have.

Tegan and Sara – U-Turn

I got into Tegan and Sara about 3 years ago with their catchy track ‘Closer’ and then fell in love with them even more when they collaborated with The Lonely Island for ‘Everything is Awesome’ from The Lego Movie soundtrack. Although some fans have been critical of their newer pop direction, claiming that they preferred the duo’s earlier releases, personally I think that too often the ‘pop’ genre has become tainted and misinterpreted. From their upcoming 8th album Love You to Death (released June 3rd), ‘U-Turn’ is exactly what great pop music should be. It is unbelievably catchy and addictive and I’ve had it on repeat for literally days. Before you dismiss it as just another ‘pop’ song, have a listen.

Gorgon City feat. Vaults – All Four Walls

Gorgon City are probably best known for their 2014 track ‘Ready For Your Love’ with MNEK, which is one of my favourite songs. Admittedly, I am not normally a huge dance or house fan but I do really like Gorgon City’s music. Now they are back with a new track called ‘All Four Walls’, featuring Vaults. I had high expectations for the track as I already love Vaults’ sound, especially their song ‘Premonitions’ and thankfully, ‘All Four Walls’ doesn’t disappoint. Yesterday, Gorgon City unveiled the song’s brilliant Brit-grit music video, which I think perfectly captures the energy and release that you feel by listening to the song.

 

Leave a Reply

