Tracks of 2016 – No. 10 – 1

There are a number of artists that almost made this list, including Black Mountain, Rihanna, Warpaint, Pumarosa and Sunflower Bean (to name a few). Ultimately, however, these are my musical highlights of the year…

10. Michael Kiwanuka – Love & Hate

From his brilliant second album, Kiwanuka’s ‘Love & Hate’ is a soulful, emotive and moving piece of music. Its many components, not to mention that great guitar solo, work together beautifully to create a truly stunning track.

9. Shura – What’s It Gonna Be?

2016 has been a great year for Shura as she finally got the attention she deserves with the release of her debut album Nothing’s Real. ‘What’s It Gonna Be?’ is one of her best – upbeat with hugely relatable lyrics, plus it has a brilliant John Hughes inspired music video.

8. The 1975 – Somebody Else

The 1975’s second album I Like It When You Sleep… has some great tracks, but this is definitely a standout. I’m a sucker for synths, especially when they sound like this – perfect late-night, post-breakup state of confusion listening.

7. Leif Erikson – Real Stuff

I stumbled across this track by accident and was instantly hooked. It’s a timeless indie rock song and is hard to believe it’s by a band that only debuted music last year.

6. Formation – Drugs

Formation’s new releases never disappoint, but this one really is something special. Fusing their unique mix of punk and electronic elements, it’s like a drug for your ear drums. Gritty, edgy and cool – I honestly can’t get enough.

5. Metronomy – Old Skool

‘Old Skool’ is a track that manages to simultaneously sound completely funky and delicious, but also slightly disturbing – and I love it. This dichotomy is wonderfully realised in the music video starring a suitably bonkers Sharon Horgan.

4. NZCA Lines – Two Hearts

‘Two Hearts’ is one of the most irresistible songs I’ve heard all year. It’s futuristic disco sound is so energetic and powerful, I feel like I’m in a hypnotic state when I listen to it (in the best possible way).

3. Tegan and Sara – U-Turn

Tegan and Sara’s 8th album Love You to Death is a brilliant pop album, full of ridiculously catchy songs stuffed with 80s nostalgia. ‘U-Turn’ is my personal highlight – a gem of a pop song that I have found myself constantly playing on repeat.

2. David Bowie – Lazarus

On 1st January this year I chose ‘Lazarus’ as my Track of the Week. When I first heard this track I was struck by its lyrics and jazz influences but when Bowie’s death was announced just over a week later, the song took on a whole new meaning. Listening to it now, it is still just as beautiful as the first time I heard it, but even more tragic and poignant.

  1. Christine and the Queens – Tilted

Discovering Christine and the Queens’ music has been one of my highlights of 2016 and it all started with this song. With its unique bilingual lyrics, ‘Tilted’ is an anthem for embracing your true self and is pop music at its best. The music video and choreographed live performances of ‘Tilted’ also add to the sparkle of the song.

 

 

Leave a Reply

